A puzzle 2

We have had some great suggestions about the nature of the puzzle and its solution.
Mary St George said the answer would be 42 because according to The Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy 42 is the answer to everything!

The Dabrowski Dogs are taking an immersion learning approach to the puzzle. They are getting right into the picture.
Intellectual has elected himself as the team leader and tried to allocate tasks.
P’est Pour Parfait, the Perfectionist Poodle, although not a Dabrowski dog, has joined in to offer unwelcome criticism.

Here is the discussion I overheard.

Intellectual: Obviously the items in the picture are Blooms. This means we need to apply the six levels of thinking (remembering, understanding, applying, analysing, evaluating, and creating) to solving the problem.

Parfait: They only have five petals so obviously they are NOT Bloom’s blooms.

Intellectual: It depends which version you are using. The current education model has six levels – remembering, understanding, applying, analysing, evaluating, and creating.
You can see great examples of that on Kathleen Morris’ blog at http://primarytech.global2.vic.edu.au/2009/08/13/blooms-taxonomy-in-the-digital-age/
and also on Kelly Tenkely’s iLearn Technology blog at  http://ilearntechnology.com/?p=2973
The traditional version also has six levels – Knowledge Comprehension Application Analysis Synthesis Evaluation See Julia Cornwell’s Successful Teaching blog post at http://juliaec.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/blooms-taxonomy-encouraging-higher-cognitive-thinking-in-primary-school-classrooms/

But anyway, remembering knowledge is vital to all the other levels so it goes in the centre of these Bloom’s blooms.

There are 3 Domains Cognitive, Affective and Psychomotor.
Naturally I will focus on Cognitive.
Sensual and Emotional can tackle Affective and Psycho Motor can report on Psychomotor.

Imaginational: What do you want me to do?

Intellectual: I don’t know! Do that airy fairy, outside the recognised academia, stream of consciousness type of thinking that you do. You might stumble onto something useful!

Intellectual: Psycho Motor, do you know what you are supposed to be doing?

Psycho Motor: Sorry, I wasn’t listening all the time. I was watching the butterflies.

3 thoughts on “A puzzle 2

  1. Ah! I think these pooches may be your alter-egos, Jo! You are so imaginative and intellectual. My head is spinning after reading the Dabrowski Dogs’ comments … and I love it!

  2. Awww, thank you, Lisa! I’m don’t know whether they are really my alter egos. I suspect I have seen them hanging around with a lot of the people I know.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.