Making connections

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

“I think I have an Apprentice and I don’t know what to do about it!” Sprite told her mentor, Paula the Physicist.

“There is a little kid in a lower class who follows me round and copies what I do.  When I got my new pinafore she wore a pinafore just like it two days later.
She always wants to have a go on my crutches and if I sit down to eat lunch she will try to borrow them. Sometimes I do let her use them.
I noticed she has a bandage on her ankle so maybe she is like me.”

“Why do you think she is your Apprentice?” Paula asked.

“It was something Retweet said yesterday.” Sprite replied. “How did you know you were supposed to be my Mentor?”

“Well you asked Jo to invite a Physicist to your P Party back in 2010 and Jo chose to invite me. And because we arrived for the party a month late we had an opportunity to spend more time talking than we would have had at the party and we discovered the things we had in common. I was able to share the things I had found helpful to me and our mentor/apprentice relationship has developed from there.”
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2010/01/30/the-professor-the-physicist-and-the-palaeontologist-arrive/

“If she really is supposed to be my Apprentice – what am I supposed to do about it?”

“You could spend time together doing something you both enjoy and, as you talk, you will work out how you can help. What do you both like to do?”
“I don’t know.”
“What is she interested in?”
“I don’t know.”
“What subjects does she enjoy?
“I don’t know.”
“What does she find difficult?”
“I don’t know.”
“Well you need to start by talking with her. What is her name?”

“I don’t know – I think of her as Pincher.”

4 thoughts on “Making connections

  1. That’s a lot of idk’s. Looks like Sprite will have to hone her social skills! Good luck to all involved. Perhaps she’ll need to enlist the help of the Dabrowski dogs? I look forward to see how things progress.

    • Yes, Sprite is receiving “helpful coaching” from the Dabrowski Dogs and the Black Dogs about how to start a conversation at the moment. I will let you know how that works out shortly.

  2. Pingback: Boredom Bingo | Sprite's Site

  3. Pingback: The year in review 2015 | Sprite's Site

Leave a Reply

