The Gift of Free Time

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

The Hoagiesgifted’ June blog hop is on the theme of The Gift of Free Time.
The topic was chosen for the month of June because the U.S. is enjoying their long summer holiday and people have time for participating in hobbies, courses, camps and activities or for just relaxing.

Sprite was given a gift of free time recently too but without as much freedom to enjoy it. Sprite has been convalescing at home after time in hospital for a major operation on her ankle.
Initially she was trying to complete the work the school had sent for her to do while she was away but she kept falling asleep half way through a sentence.

Caramel Cat parked himself on her book and said “Just relax! Take a chill pill!”
“I don’t need any more pills! I am already being given enough pills for pain to knock out the Memory Elephant for a week!” Sprite said.
“But Intellectual Dabrowski and P’est pour Parfait, the Perfectionist Poodle wanted me to do the school work and Psycho Motor Dabrowski wants me to go outside and play throw the stick”

Sensual Dabrowski had brought scented soaps and fizzy bath bombs and suggested that she should take a nice relaxing bath
“I would really, really love to have a nice warm bath” said Sprite “But I will not be able to do that for quite a while!”
Emotional Dabrowski howled in sympathy.

Imaginational Dabrowski suggested that instead of doing the set work she could look at the pictures in a travel magazine and imagine herself relaxing in the picture. Imaginational did a bit too well at setting the scene for her. Sprite remembered the time she spent playing the Survivor – Gifted Island game and how she had enjoyed relaxing in a hammock then.
The memory was vivid – complete with the picture of the deep shades of blue and the dazzling, shimmering sparkle of the water, the sound of the waves, the salty smell of the air.
And she could still recall exactly how it felt.
“The hammock swinging is making me feel dizzy” she said.

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

“You are not very good at relaxing, are you?” observed Caramel Cat. “You need to mellow out!”

“I wish I could!” said Sprite

“Great book!” said Intellectual
“Michael Piechowski’s ‘Mellow Out’ They Say. If I Only Could. Intensities and Sensitivities of the Young and Bright” http://www.mellowout.us/welcome.html
“You should read it sometime. You have plenty of time to read now.”
“I have brought you a selection of reading materials – you could start with War and Peace”
“I don’t think I could even concentrate long enough to read Run, Spot, Run” Sprite replied.

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

By the time her mentor Paula the Physicist visited a few days later with her gift of a helium-filled foil balloon and the soft toy white poodle  Sprite was feeling quite a bit brighter but was getting frustrated with her lack of mobility.

“I am getting SO BORED!” she told Paula.
“We will talk about the whole topic of boredom another time” Paula told her. “But at the moment you need to find some ways of keeping yourself amused. What have you been doing?”

“I have finished the work the school sent” Sprite said. “And I have been doing knitting and crochet. I have played solitaire card games and chess on the laptop, watched TV, and I have read some of the books that Intellectual brought me.

I even calculated my leisure profile at https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/gifted-play-calculate-your-leisure-profile/ 

 

But I am not supposed to put any weight at all on my ankle for at least another six weeks.”
“What else can I do to fill the time?”
“Could we go on the Hoagiesgifted’ June Blog Hop and see what activities other people are recommending?”

Image Jo Freitag

Image Jo Freitag

If you would like to join us on the hop go to http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/blog_hop_gift_of_free_time.htm

11217819_10205584622787478_5247766115022845710_n

8 thoughts on “The Gift of Free Time

  1. Pingback: White Poodle, Black Poodle | Sprite's Site

  2. Pingback: Boredom Bingo | Sprite's Site

  3. Pingback: INKtober | Sprite's Site

  4. Pingback: The year in review 2015 | Sprite's Site

Leave a Reply

