On the GHF April 2015 Blog Hop

afterghfapril15hop03 When I called in to Sprite’s Site during the Gifted Homeschoolers Forum April blog hop Gifted at Different Ages and Stages to check on the progress of Sprite’s homework essay I gained the impression that the twice exceptional Sprite had enjoyed thinking about the topic but was not keen to write an essay about it.
So I asked Intellectual Dabrowski to keep an eye on her and continued my visit to the other blogs.

These are the posts I visited and the comments I left or tried to leave.

A little insight. A little perspective ~ Gifted Unschooling (Amy Harrington)
http://www.giftedunschooling.com/a-little-insight-a-little-perspective/
No one ever told me there was a reason people thought I was different. I didn’t realize it as much as they noticed it. I thought everyone else was weird. Their desire to fit in and be like one another baffled me. I prefer going against the grain.
My comment
I loved this phrase ‘It is a different way of viewing and experiencing the world.’
Thank you for giving us your perspective, Amy.

Ages and Stages of Being Gifted ~ Homeschooling Hatters (Care Martin)
http://homeschoolinghatters.blogspot.com.au/2015/04/ages-and-stages-of-being-gifted.html
We see so much about giftedness through our own lenses. But for this hop, I wanted to branch out a little, and get some perspective from other people – even those who don’t necessarily feel connected or part of the Gifted Community. Since there are so many different ages and stages this could cover, I wanted to hit on as many as possible. As such, I took to interviewing, and today I get to share my results with you.
My comment
Congratulations Care! What a great post! It was so interesting to read the different understandings of giftedness and how it affects the life of all the people you interview.

Do you grow out of giftedness?  ~ Sprite’s Site (Jo Freitag)
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/do-you-grow-out-of-giftedness/

People say ‘she is just going through a phase – she will grow out of it’. Is being gifted just a stage in life like being a teenager and do you grow out of it?”
My comment
Just checking in to see how Sprite’s homework essay is progressing.

Gifted Babies and Toddlers: Where are the Resources? ~ Scleratus Classical Academy (Mrs. Ward)
http://sceleratusclassicalacademy.blogspot.com.au/2015/04/gifted-babies-where-are-resources.html

“…once again, I panicked a bit. Early Bird at least waited until he was 2 years old before throwing me for a loop. Lady Bug only waited one year. What I am supposed to do with this talking baby?”
My comment
I remember when our eldest was a baby our wonderful Baby & Maternal Health Nurse used to give the jigsaw puzzles which were intended for older siblings to play with to her. She then gave us a referral to the Noah’s Ark toy library so that we could borrow the puzzles and toys that we could not afford to purchase. The book library and toy library and the entire contents of the kitchen cupboards were great sources of fun and learning for her but the regular baby care books were no help to me at all.

Gifted Hindsight is 20/20 ~ My Little Poppies (Caitlin Curley)
http://my-little-poppies.com/gifted-hindsight-is-2020/
They say hindsight is 20/20. As I sit here, seven years into this parenting gig, it’s easy for me to identify all of the characteristics and traits that have become such a part of our lives and our family story. Early on, we were new parents. We were too sleep deprived and too in it to recognize any of the signs.
My comment
Great post, Cait! It brings back a lot of very similar memories for me too! And you are right. In hindsight you can recognize that all those characteristics that made life interesting and challenging back then were actually the descriptors of giftedness.

Giftedness Across the Lifespan ~ Eclectic Homeschooling (Amy B.)
http://eclectic-homeschool.com/giftedness-across-the-lifespan/

Giftedness isn’t about what you can do, but who you are. From the time a child is born until they are elderly, giftedness is present. Our society needs to stop thinking of giftedness as academic achievement, because it isn’t. It is different brain wiring.
My comment
Great examples of expressions of giftedness throughout the lifespan!

He’s Really Gifted In Math?!?  ~ The Cardinal House (Carissa Leventis-Cox)
http://thecardinalhouse.blogspot.com.au/2015/04/hes-really-gifted-in-math.html

My son’s Math teacher looked at me through a web cam and smiled, “He’s gifted in Math!”
“He is?” My jaw dropped. I simply did not believe it. “He’s really gifted in… MATH???”
“YES! YES! YES!” he beamed.
My comment
Great post! It is wonderful to see those moments of exponential acceleration happen when a subject clicks!

Know Your Gifted Child–Find Your Gifted Self ~ The Rainforest Mind (Paula Prober)
https://rainforestmind.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/gifted-child-gifted-parent/

When you find a gifted child, a parent who is gifted isn’t far behind. Not always, of course. Sometimes it’s a grandparent or your wild Aunt Nellie. But I see this phenomenon again and again. The more you recognize and understand your rainforest mind, the more you will understand your child.
My comment
Such a great post, Paula! I became a bit tearful because it is so true and you told it so beautifully.

This has been a commentary post on the Gifted Homeschoolers Forum April blog hop Gifted at Different Ages and Stages
http://giftedhomeschoolers.org/blog-hops/gifted-ages-stages/

ghfbloghop1504sm

One thought on “On the GHF April 2015 Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: The year in review 2015 | Sprite's Site

Leave a Reply

