Gifted in Reel Life

reellife02

I know I have not posted much here yet this year.
After the Christmas and New Year celebrations I have been busy updating both the Gifted Resources website and my personal website and setting up new pages for use in 2015.

Sprite and the others have been “helping” me (note the inverted commas).

By the time we started working on the Film Discussions page Intellectual Dabrowski  and P’est Pour Parfait, the Perfectionist Poodle, were being pedantic and tiresome and Psycho Motor Dabrowski’s attention was waning.
Imaginational Dabrowski was thinking how good it would be to stop the updating work and watch some of the movies.

“Oh look, here’s my favourite movie of all time – Little Man Tate” said Sprite. “We could watch that first and then maybe Contact. I’ll get the popcorn.”
Next thing I knew Sprite had made herself comfortable, everyone had brought more films, snacks and a box of tissues for Emotional Dabrowski and they had all settled down (except Psycho Motor, who never settles down and Sensual who felt itchy) for a marathon viewing of films about gifted and 2E characters.

Films can be a powerful teaching tool and an effective springboard for generating discussion. I have developed and presented a series of discussions based on movies on topics relating to giftedness for education, encouragement and enjoyment for teachers, students, parents and anyone who lives or works with gifted people.

There are many films about gifted characters which can be used for discussion starters for parent groups, material for teacher training or professional development/in-service training or activities for gifted youth groups.
Suitable films include
Little Man Tate
Amadeus
Contact
A Beautiful Mind
Spellbound
The Incredibles
Top Kid
Finding Forrester
Rain Man
Good Will Hunting
Searching for Bobby Fischer
Shine
August Rush
October sky

I noticed that Psycho Motor Dabrowski was bouncing up and down in front of the GHF January Blog Hop sign.
So I left Sprite and co and set off to find out what other blogs had to say about ‘Gifted in Reel Life’.
“Bring home some more popcorn and tissues, please!” called Sprite.

If you would like to go on the blog hop too you will find all the links at
http://giftedhomeschoolers.org/blog-hops/gifted-in-reel-life/

reellifelogo

11 thoughts on “Gifted in Reel Life

  1. I found your blog in December, the post about I love Christmas, but… and I’ve been exploring and following since. So, I just wanted to tell you really quick that I really really really love your blog and I wanted to say thank you.

  2. Pingback: On the Gifted in Reel Life blog hop | Sprite's Site

  3. Pingback: The year in review 2015 | Sprite's Site

Leave a Reply

