Gifted Grown Ups

bloghop201014sign

There was an argument in progress in front of the Gifted Homeschoolers Forum October Blog Hop sign.
“You go on the blog hop – you are the gifted one!”
“No, you go! The tweetlets inherited their giftedness from you!”
The usually lovey-dovey Twitter Bird couple, Tweet and Retweet,   were debating about who should go on the blog hop and neither of them were prepared to acknowledge their own giftedness.

It is so often the way!
People seem happy to acknowledge their children’s giftedness and to advocate for their needs to be met; while not recognizing, acknowledging or affirming their own giftedness and needs.

In fact a strange thing happened at the meeting I had to discuss Dr Ed Needs’ recommendations with Sprite’s teacher.

asterisks

I had been very concerned about the meeting because I remembered previous meetings and attempts to advocate for suitable provisions for Sprite’s education
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/the-meeting/

https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/de-bonos-6-action-shoes-9-one-size-shoe-cover-system/

I had gathered lots of information to take to the meeting including the results of Sprite’s testing and Dr Ed Needs recommendations

bloghop201014edneeds

And I had been mentally rehearsing the conversation.

The conversation always went well in my mind until we inevitably came to the point where the teacher would say with a hint of a sneer in her voice
“So how do you know about all this? Are you a gifted person too?”
And I would mentally try out different possible replies.
I felt that I needed to affirm my own giftedness as my work is based in helping people to recognize and affirm giftedness and seek the provisions, supports and resources they need for their children and themselves.

But what if affirming my giftedness just confirmed to her that I was the crazy, over sensitive, perfectionist cheetah mama lady with no obvious giftedness and no formal qualifications who just thought the sun shone out of her precious child?

All I do would be able to do would be to show her Gagne’s DMGT innate giftedness to fully developed talents road diagram.

ghfbloghopoct1403
I could tell her that, because of a combination of circumstances and some bad choices, I had not completed my journey across the path; although I was and still am gifted and that I just wanted the most suitable opportunities to be available for others.
And also that giftedness is not always synonymous with achievement

ghfbloghopoct1404

I would show her again the Columbus Group definition of giftedness and talk to her about the myths surrounding giftedness and Columbus Cheetah’s myth busting efforts  and I would give her the One Page to Tell information sheet  emphasizing the particular needs of the gifted and the possible causes of underachievement.

asterisks

But, as I said, a strange thing happened at the meeting.
We were not very far into the discussion (nowhere near the point where my authority to speak on such matters would be challenged) when the teacher said
“I have been doing some PD on gifted and 2E students and I have been reading a lot.
I have learned a lot about myself in the process.”

It is so often the way!
I have seen teachers leave the room in tears at gifted conferences when they realised that the speaker was describing not only their students but also the teachers themselves.

“I realize now,” she continued, “that I was a gifted child and I never had any special provisions made for me.
I know more now about the modifications needed for teaching gifted and 2E students.
Sprite is very fortunate to have you advocating for her”

This is a post for the Gifted Homeschoolers Forum October Blog Hop: Gifted Grown Ups.
Please join us on the hop and read and comment on the posts.
To find all the posts in the hop please follow the links at http://giftedhomeschoolers.org/blog-hops/gifted-grown-ups/

bloghop201014

 

 

7 thoughts on “Gifted Grown Ups

  1. Oh my – it is so often the way that we as adults are so reluctant to acknowledge that our kids might be *gasp* just like us. Thankyou Sprite for such a lovely collection of great ways to rethink what giftedness means.

  2. What a great post. I know my mom was always pointing to my dad as “the smart one”. Nonsense – they are both gifted. And I love that you are advocating for your daughter.

  3. Pingback: New Shoes | Sprite's Site

  4. Pingback: Do you grow out of giftedness? | Sprite's Site

Leave a Reply

