Advocacy 2

Intellectual Dabrowski greeted me at the entrance to Sprite’s Site with the phone in his mouth and a determined expression in his eyes.
“You need to phone the school now and make an appointment to meet them and discuss Sprite’s education plan!” he said.
I realised with surprise that a month had passed since our previous discussion about the topic!

“But I have not finished reading Derrin Cramer’s new book Beginner’s Guide to Life on the Bright Side yet” I said.

And now I also want to read Jen Merrill’s book If This is a Gift, Can I Send It Back?: Surviving in the Land of the Gifted and Twice-Exceptional  http://www.laughingatchaos.com/i-wrote-a-book/ which can be bought from Amazon at

 http://www.amazon.com/This-Gift-Can-Send-Back/dp/0615648789/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1343960784&sr=8-6&keywords=jen+merrill

“Then make the appointment for three days time and get reading!” ordered Intellectual.

(‘It’s that bossy attitude which has delayed your start as a Read to Me Dog in a classroom or library’ I thought)

“I want to co-operate with the school to get the best possible solutions for Sprite.  And I do not want the school to think I am one of THOSE parents!” I told Intellectual.
“So tomorrow I am going to participate in the Global #gtchat powered by TAGT first annual back-to-school chat, “Collaboration, Not Confrontation: Parents and Teachers Working Together.” Special guest panel includes TAGT members Dr. Lynette Breedlove, Angie French and David Sebek and later I will join the follow-up session to discuss the lessons learned. And then I can read through the transcript later at http://www.txgifted.org/gtchat-transcripts

“OK” grumbled Intellectual “but just don’t put it off for too long – the provisions that are in place at the moment are beginning to look a bit frayed and worn thin!”

2 thoughts on “Advocacy 2

Leave a Reply

