Delta Dog

“I think you must be very brave” Sprite told me
“Why do you think that?” I asked
“Because you still hang around with Imaginational Dabrowski even now you are a grown –up!”

“Imaginational asked me if I wanted him to go away now that my homework is all serious stuff and I have to get all the facts right and spell it all properly and cite all the references in the correct manner.

And I remembered what Sir Ken Robinson said about children being creative and imaginative but then they usually grow out if it when they get to school
https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/beyond-our-ken-sprite-tries-to-fathom-the-nature-of-creativity/

But I said I didn’t want Imaginational to go because I really love him – he’s cute and funny and he makes me feel as if exciting things are possible.”

Intellectual was pacing up and down saying “I am the Alpha Dog! I am the one who is the most obviously recognized as being the gifted one. So Sprite needs to do things my way and stop hanging out with Imaginational.
Psycho-Motor could be the Alpha Dog if he put his mind to it. He is strong and quick and usually knows the right answer but he just isn’t focused enough and he doesn’t demonstrate the steps in his thinking. If Sprite follows him, he will lead her astray”

Sensual sat and scratched his head. He was feeling underestimated again and thinking that without his heightened awareness of sights and sounds and scents contributing to the data Intellectual would not be nearly as effective. He did not really want to be the Alpha Dog but he did want to be acknowledged!

Emotional sat and howled. She respected the ability of Intellectual and Psycho Motor and loved the creativity of Imaginational and she empathised with Sensual and knew that the sensations he felt always moved her to happiness or sadness and stimulated complex emotions such as anxiety, guilt, pride and patriotism. And she howled because she did not like arguments.

“Who do you think should be the Alpha Dog?” Sprite asked me.

“Well,” I said “They are all very important but I would like to point out that Lesley Sword calls Emotional Intensity the Energy that Drives the Gifted Intellect http://giftedservices.com.au/handouts/The%20Psycho-social%20Needs%20of%20Gifted%20Children.doc

And Dr Linda Silverman in her article Dabrowski’s Theory rates Emotional as “perhaps most important of the overexcitabilities” http://www.gifteddevelopment.com/Articles/dabrowski/c55.pdf

“So I say long live Emotional – our gracious Drama Queen!”

“I don’t want to be the Alpha Dog” said Imaginational “I am happy to be Delta Dog, the hang gliding super hero, who swoops in to show you a humorous or creative alternative when Intellectual gets too boring or pompous”

“Why are you called Delta Dog?” asked Sprite.

“Because Delta isn’t first and top of the pile like Alpha but it is used to represent the degree of change – you know like Acceleration = delta velocity / delta time. I see how things can be changed.  Also I have a delta wing glider so you can hang out with me whenever you want”.

“I’m so glad I said Imaginational didn’t have to go away” said Sprite.

“Me too!” I said.

One thought on “Delta Dog

  1. I agree with Sprite. Her site wouldn’t be the same without Imaginational! Although I love all the Dabrowski doggies, Imaginational holds a special spot for me. I can really identify with wanting to be the one with the humorous alternative; to lift others’ spirits.
    Thanks for making Dabrowski so easy to understand.

Leave a Reply

