Best Australian Blogs 2012 Part 6

I returned after a rather frustrating and disappointing day in the real world to visit Sprite and check on the progress of her Cultural Exchanges event which she was holding as part of her campaign for The Sydney Writers’ Centre Best Australian Blogs 2012 competition
Click on the picture to see an enlargement of it.

The events seemed to be going well.
Arachnid had JPEG ged a web to the banners and was giving a demonstration of web spinning in the style of E.B. White’s Charlotte’s web.
Hieronymouse Bosch, one of the mice from the skirting board of Sprite’s Site, was painting a mouseterpiece.

The Lobster Lolly Lobbing competition was in full swing and the Lobster Lewis Carollers were performing a Lobster Quadrille https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/gtstoogies-15-the-1st-annual-lobster-fest/

I noticed that P’est Pour Parfait, the perfectionist poodle, was keeping a critical eye on the event.
“That web message is not animated enough. It needs to be an animated GIF to get the message across properly!” he grumbled.

And then I noticed that a few of the Black Dogs were trying to sneak in and cast a shadow over the event.
“I know why SAD Seasonally Affected Black Dog is here” I said “I was drenched in a rain shower on the way home. But where is his cheery pink parasol?”
“It blew away!” said Sprite.
“And I can sympathize with little Thinks He’s An Alien Black Dog” I said “ I felt like that a bit today; when people that I really thought would understand gifted and 2E students just did not understand at all and dismissed what I was saying as irrelevant”
“I feel like that often!” said Sprite. “And I hope Guard on Duty Black Dog will not scare away my visitors!”

“Why is Wistful here?” I asked

“He just wishes that Sprite’s Site had been listed as a Finalist in the Best Australian Blogs 2012 competition” Sprite replied.
“As do we all!” I said “Tell him to build a bridge and get over it.”
I was happy that Sprite and I had already discussed some strategies for building resilience when faced with disappointments
See  Revitalization and resilience https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/revitalization-and-resilience/
and Appreciation coaching https://spritessite.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/appreciation-coaching/
and I also found an article at http://www.gifted.uconn.edu/sem/pdf/Understanding_Resilience.pdf  

“We still have more events to stage before the People’s Choice voting closes on 9 May 2012. “ I said “And we are having a lot of fun with the campaign!”

“It IS fun” agreed Sprite

You can vote for Sprite’s Site (and as many other great Australian blogs as you like) by clicking on the Vote for Me button in the sidebar of the blog but you can only vote once: so be sure to make the vote count. Sprite’s Site is on Page 4 O-S.

If you have entered Sprite’s Site by following a link to a specific post you will need to click on the title on the blue Sprite’s Site header to see the sidebar.

Leave a Reply

