Thank you notes

“Do I really HAVE to write thank you letters?” asked Sprite.

“Well, yes, it is good manners to write thank you letters when you are given a gift or have been to stay with someone or if someone has organised an event which you have enjoyed “I said.

I thought about how much I appreciate receiving thank you cards, notes and letters. As Gifted Resources has always operated on a shoestring budget and I do not receive any salary or funding, expressions of appreciation are very important to me. I have even created a page on Gifted Resources website to display them http://www.giftedresources.org/gr/appreciations.htm

“I started to write thank you letters for my Christmas presents and I wasn’t sure what I should write so I looked up Daily writing tips – Writing a thank you note
http://www.dailywritingtips.com/writing-a-thank-you-note/
But it just sounded like homework – such a lot of writing – and I don’t want to do it” said Sprite.

As I have explained before Sprite is the twice exceptional poster child for my Feetspeak: 2E shoes presentations.
Feetspeak: 2E shoes is about planning programs that will be suitable for gifted students who also have a learning difficulty or different learning style using Edward De Bono’s 6 Action Shoes as the planning tool.
Sprite is always depicted as having an injured left ankle and needing to wear different shoes on each foot to illustrate the concept that she needs different educational provisions for both her giftedness and her disability at the same time.

She is exceptionally gifted but has learning style differences and disabilities which sometimes make it hard for her to demonstrate her giftedness and make her studies an exhausting experience for her.
She has a great thirst for knowledge and gathers so much by osmosis and intuition. She loves the research but hates writing the essay about it! And she really hates the homework and has become an expert in devising excuses for not doing it!

It is often difficult to tell whether I should allow Sprite to ‘Plead the Pink Slipper’ and use De Bono 6 Actions Shoes Pink slipper soft, caring, compassionate approach and let her avoid or modify certain activities or whether I should make her use the adjustable Velcro sandal or walking cast cover approach- participate and do the best she can.

Fortunately Dr Michele Borba had some words of wisdom about the importance of thank you expressions which included some fun alternatives to writing lengthy letters

I suggested she might like to send taped messages or even Voki messages http://www.voki.com/  or send a photo of her wearing or using the gift.

“I have thank you letters to write, too,” I told her. “I really appreciated the work done by the organizers Shelly Terrell, Christopher Rogers, Kelly Tenkely, Greta Sandler, Lisa Dabbs and Melissa Tran to organise the Reform Symposium for us. So I am going to send them a screen shot of the thankyou whiteboard from the final session.”

Leave a Reply

