Pugnacious Loyola 3

“So why would you call him Pugnacious Loyola?”
“Well, he’s a pug and you said he would support you and stand up for you and that he was very loyal – so I thought Pugnacious Loyola. It sounds a bit like Ignatius Loyola. It’s a pun – a play on words.” I said
“It is like when we called our fish Adolf Fishler because it had a black moustache mark above its mouth.”
“Who is Ignatius Loyola then?” she asked
Saint Ignatius of Loyola (1491– July 31, 1556) was a Spanish knight from a noble family, who became a hermit priest and theologian and founded the Society of Jesus also called the Jesuits who are known in the fields of education (schools, colleges, universities, seminaries, theological faculties), intellectual research, and cultural pursuits in addition to missionary work and social justice.
I did not go to Catholic school but I was taught the Prayer of St Ignatius Loyola
Teach us, Good Lord,
To Serve Thee as Thou deservest;
To give and not to count the cost;
To fight and not to heed the wounds;
To toil and not to seek for rest,
To labour and not to ask for any reward,
save that of knowing that we do Thy will.
Through Jesus Christ Our Lord, Amen.
It is very timely for me to be reminded of that prayer now as I have been feeling peeved lately that I was not receiving financial reward or recognition for my work and was being subjected to stress on a number of fronts which was affecting my health. My attitude needs a good polishing!
“So is the name supposed to be funny then?” asked Sprite
“She who laughs last has the joke explained to her.” I said

Leave a Reply

