What colour is Christmas?

“What colour is Christmas?” asked Sprite.
My first thought was that this was that this was a homework creativity exercise based on the book ‘What color is Saturday?’
whatcolorissat01
Next I wondered whether it was a sign of some sort of Synesthesia and quietly looked up the Neurolearning Blog of the Drs Brock and Fernette Eide
http://eideneurolearningblog.blogspot.com/2005/02/autism-imagery-synesthesia-and-genius.html
The picture which Sprite was looking at when she asked the question was the Christmas greeting on my personal website http://www.giftedresources.org/jo/ which depicts a night sky of a colour which I particularly associate with Christmas for reasons I don’t fully understand but probably relate to the Christmas cards we received when I was very young and participating in a group which painted a Christmas mural when I was in primary school.
Knowing Sprite and her interest in atmospheric optics I thought this might be a “Why is the sky blue?” type question and was just about to bring out the Blue skies, rainbows and silver linings teaching unit http://www.giftedresources.org/jo/lessonplans.htm

untousachildisborn
Then I noticed that the other Internet Explorer window she had open was Radio National ABC’s Religion Blog http://ow.ly/166P2a Talking of Faith Margaret Coffey at the Parliament of the World’s Religions 2009 and today’s article was about Costumes and Colours.

But ever since our eldest child at the age of two stamped her foot and said “Don’t say she thinks That. What I really think is This” I have been careful not to make too many assumptions.

So I asked Sprite “why do you ask that question?”

Leave a Reply

