Hearing the starfish

“I can hear the sea when I hold this shell to my ear’” I said. I was trying to play the imagination game with Sprite.
“No you can’t! she said “And it is not an echo of the blood flowing in your ears either. I looked it up on How stuff works and this is what it said –

The most likely explanation for the wave-like noise is ambient noise from around you. The seashell that you are holding just slightly above your ear captures this noise, which resonates inside the shell. The size and shape of the shell therefore has some effect on the sound you hear. Different shells sound different because different shells accentuate different frequencies. You don’t even need the seashell to hear the noise. You can produce the same “ocean” sound using an empty cup or even by cupping your hand over your ear.”

“But when I hold the Cowie Starjump Starfish to my ear I really do hear it talking to me!” Sprite claimed

It was then I noticed the poster on the wall. It was a flyer about Maxine Cowie’s Starjump for Visual Spatial Learners Unlocking Literacy program

cowiestarfish03

Leave a Reply

