The second SIP – I for Intellectual Part 2

artragejing01
Sprite and I spent the afternoon playing with Artrage http://www.artrage.com/ and Jing http://www.jingproject.com/ experimenting with shades, layers and different artists’ materials to investigate what we needed to do to find a silver lining for a grey cloud.

This was one of the exercises in my teaching unit Blue skies, rainbows and silver linings – Symbols of hope and optimism http://giftedresources.org/jo/lessonplans.htm

greytosilver10combo
I showed Sprite a reference to an explanation of the cause of the appearance (or not) of a cloud’s silver lining

“When we view thick, irregular and scattered clouds such as those of the cumulus family between us and the sun, the edges often shine brightly. This is called the cloud’s silver lining, which under certain conditions near sunrise or sunset can become a golden lining. The cloud’s edges are much thinner than its main body; thus they are more efficient at scattering light forward toward our eyes. When the contrast is great, the edges appear brilliant and metallic in appearance.
In contrast to the silver lining, when we are between the sun and cloud, the cloud’s central portion reflects more light than the edges, which now appear relatively dark. “

“So it depends where we view it from whether a cloud has a silver lining!” I said.

I told her about my secondary school English teacher, Margaret Reeves, who used to say “I LOVE days like this – there are so many shades of grey in the sky!”
I did not appreciate the sentiment at the time but the thought has stayed with me and helped me to enjoy winter days now.

I went get us some hot chocolate and scones.
When I came back I found Sprite delivering a lecture to Puddleglum and the bedraggled SAD seasonally affected Black Dog about atmospheric optics and perspective using our art works as visual aids.

Leave a Reply

