Perfect

gardenfractalssig (1)

“Why don’t you draw me perfect?”
Now that Sprite had accepted the fact that I had created her she was determined that I should be held accountable.
I thought she was concerned about my lack of artistic ability and started to give her all the excuses.
”I have not had any formal art training,” I said.
“That doesn’t matter. You could still draw me perfect if you wanted!”
“Aha,” I thought. Sprite seems to be developing a problem with perfectionism and it would be wise to nip that in the bud before it prevents her from doing anything she is afraid she will not be able to do perfectly.
In my best ‘see-me-modeling-this-behaviour’ voice I said “Well. I always just try to do my best. I know it will never be 100% perfect. But if we had to wait until I could draw perfectly you would not exist at all”

Then, to my amazement, Sprite burst into tears.
”No! You just don’t get it!” she cried. Why is my ankle always so sore? Why is it always bandaged or in plaster? Why don’t you just draw me perfect?”

“You are perfect to me’” I said.
”You are just as I planned you to be. I needed a character like you to model De Bono’s Action shoes and show which programs planned by them would be suitable for people like you who are both gifted and have a learning difficulty or difference.
And my plans for you are not intended to harm you. You are going to have a lot of fun and experience things which would not have been possible if you were not exactly the way you are.
I know it is hard for you to understand now but if you can put up with some pain and inconvenience you will be able to help a lot of teachers and parents and students like yourself.”

Then I added “I didn’t understand why some things happened in my life and then I read this in the Bible
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

